No Land

No Land is the new musical piece of non-categorizable composer and guitar player Olivier Mellano.

At the crossroads of modern musical genres and new music, defying codes of traditional folk music, Olivier Mellano invited for this new projet the 30 musicians of Bagad Cesson and the marvelous voice of Brendan Perry from the Dead Can Dance duo.


I have always felt mysteriously attracted to the sound of Breton Pipe bands. At the same time, traditional Breton music seemed to always have the opposite impact on me. Today, I am confronting my writing to that ensemble in an attempt to solve this paradox.

Bagad contains a kind of martial ardour, an almost ecstatic self-discipline that moves me with its both rough and straight aspect, at first not appearing much pleasing and then that might completely take you. I wanted to see how we could make that ensemble sound different, with other harmonies, another form, another culture, still without rubbing out its characteristics and considering it sometimes as a compact whole of sounds, sometimes as an ensemble teeming with soloists.

With No Land, the concern and the diversion of traditional codes outflank Celtic tradition and could just as well refer to the jajouka from North Africa or Balinese music; some signs of the sound-epilepsy of Terry Riley could also be brought back, Robert Frip’s weavings or stigmata from my own pop-rock-cold-noise culture that perfectly suits the bagad energy. As with my pieces for electric guitars or my ‘How we tried…’ symphony, there is something close to maximalism and to a will to wear out an instrumentarium so that an uncluttered shape might emerge. It is about finding a submergence state where reasoning is ineffective and it is about that other place where you can sometimes be propelled thanks to the sound.


No Land is an open saga, an independent shape made of a whole single movement crossed by diverse energies, it is a sequence of stormy and serene landscapes above which a deep and powerful voice is floating, Brendan Perry’s one from the Dead Can Dance duo. His voice, one of the most beautiful in the world as far as I am concerned, has been guiding me for a long time and I assume it indirectly contributed to the composition since I have the impression that I wrote the vocal line to measure, so much his tone is familiar to me.

No Land’s theme is the absence of frontiers, or more precisely the assertion of its porosity worn as a flag, believing that no human beings can be reduced to one territory even though this territory might have built them up. To make use of an ensemble that is traditionally linked to land claim appeared to me quite appropriate to demand that anyone be a membership of a greater world where we are all breathing the same air. Moreover, Pipe band initially being a military ensemble, I decided to have it bear a reverse message to the one it historically had been created for. The Bagad Cesson ensemble, with its curiosity as well as its taste for off-road performance and its high requirement of quality, was the perfect interpreter.

No Land is a political fiction programme, a humanist and utopian song, an ode against anything that confines and reduces Man’s complexity.

Who could deny that yesterday and today evils are not issued from the very moment someone attributed themselves a piece of the world, while cutting away its immensity, declaring themselves free but locking themselves up and starting by growing the stem of a system vowed to implosion. This canto proudly bears its own innocence and it might be from this repeated and accepted candour that we will find back the path of reason, of appeasement, even of a possible magnanimity.

Olivier Mellano

Olivier Mellano – Bagad Cesson

Last performance of No Land at the Festival des Vieilles Charrues 2018

Interview - Brendan Perry & Olivier Mellano

Interview No Land par SuperFlux

Propaganda
No Land dates
Press kit

This press kit contains Richard Dumas’ photographies, the No Land logo and presentation.

link to No Land album

► Album available now: http://smarturl.it/Noland2017

Texts

Textes et traductions No Land

19 languages to spread the words of No Land!

Olivier Mellano – Brendan Perry

A record beyond categories, a kind of glorifying and secular oratorio, a rare experience.

ROCK & FOLK

 

Frontiers are beyond, horizon is expanding. Witness to the perfect alchemy between cultures, No Land is a musical journey crossed by melancholia and light.

NOISE

 

At the border between celtic sounds and contemporary music, a music like a wild landscape.

LES INROCKUPTIBLES

 

If you’re still hoping for music to save lives, starting with yours, No Land may be the right destination.

GONZAÏ

 

Waves of energy, turmoil, quiet after the tempest and profound song of the world. An off-road melting.

L’OBS

 

Much more than a great record, No Land is one of these philosophies that the world needs more than ever, a priceless treasure for humankind.

PLUGGED

 

A sensory experience. The strength of the theme and of those who embody it is enough to give the whole a remarkable depth. A message to the medidative dimension that may be tempting and reassuring to ignore but, once tackled, that can only change our vision of what is surrounding us.

METALORGIE

 

A cross-breed creation combining the spirit of contemporary music and the quest for ancient foundations. Spectacular live.

TOUTE LA CULTURE

 

Martial drums, tightened vocals and mental victory: the union of 3 bodies that everything separates, yet that everything reassembles, when locating oneself against an ever open world, and an ever closed world.

NÉOPRISME

 

Bridges between centuries, a unique and puzzling piece whose timelessness will be revealed one day.

ELECTROPHONE

 

No Land is wonderful.

FROGGY’S DELIGHT

 

An ode which raises hearts and that has not finished to echo here and beyond human frontiers.

ZIC-ZAG

No Land - Olivier Mellano
290
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-290,,qode-child-theme-ver-,qode-theme-ver-13.3,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive

No Land

Olivier Mellano – Bagad Cesson

No Land est la création du compositeur et musicien inclassable Olivier Mellano

Au croisement des musiques actuelles et de la musique nouvelle, se jouant des codes de la musique traditionnelle, il a convié pour ce projet les 30 musiciens du bagad de Cesson et la fascinante voix de Brendan Perry du duo mythique Dead Can Dance.


Le son du bagad a toujours exercé sur moi une force d’attraction assez mystérieuse. Parallèlement, la musique traditionnelle bretonne a toujours plutôt eu l’effet inverse. Aujourd’hui, je confronte mon écriture à cet ensemble pour tenter de résoudre ce paradoxe.

Il y a dans le bagad une sorte de ferveur martiale, une retenue quasi extatique qui me touche par son côté à la fois rêche et droit, d’abord peu aimable puis qui peut vous prendre entièrement. J’ai voulu voir comment il était possible de faire sonner différemment cet ensemble, avec d’autres harmonies, une autre approche, une autre culture sans toutefois en gommer les spécificités, en l’envisageant tantôt comme une masse sonore compacte, tantôt comme un ensemble fourmillant de solistes.

Dans No Land, la prise en compte et le détournement des codes traditionnels déborde la tradition celtique et pourrait aussi bien évoquer le jajouka d’Afrique du Nord que la musique balinaise, on pourra aussi probablement trouver des traces de l’épilepsie sonore de Terry Riley, des tissages de Robert Fripp ou des stigmates de ma culture pop-rock-cold-noise très compatible avec l’énergie du bagad. Comme dans mes pièces pour guitares électriques ou la symphonie «How we tried…» on y retrouve quelque chose de l’ordre du maximalisme et de la volonté d’épuiser un instrumentarium pour qu’une forme d’épure puisse en jaillir. Trouver un état de submersion où l’analyse n’est plus opérante et où l’on peut être projeté dans cet autre lieu auquel le son nous donne parfois accès.


No Land est une large fresque, une forme libre composée d’un seul grand mouvement parcouru d’énergies contrastées, une succession de paysages apaisés ou tempétueux au-dessus desquels plane une voix large et puissante, celle de Brendan Perry du duo Dead Can Dance. Sa voix, que je tiens pour une des plus belles du monde, m’accompagne depuis longtemps et je pense qu’elle a participé indirectement à la composition de cette pièce tant j’ai été j’ai l’impression d’avoir écrit sur-mesure la ligne vocale, tant ses intonations me sont familières.

La thématique de No Land est l’absence de frontière ou plutôt l’affirmation de sa porosité portée comme un étendard, avec l’idée que l’humain n’est pas réductible à un territoire même si ce territoire peut l’avoir construit. Utiliser un ensemble musical traditionnellement lié à la revendication d’une identité géographique m’a semblé tout indiqué pour revendiquer l’appartenance de chacun à un monde élargi où nous partageons tous le même air. Par ailleurs le pipe band étant à l’origine un ensemble militaire, j’ai décidé de lui faire porter un message à rebours de ce pour quoi il a été historiquement conçu. La curiosité du Bagad Cesson et son goût pour le hors-piste ainsi que sa grande exigence en faisaient l’interprète idéal.

No land est un programme de politique fiction, un chant utopiste et humaniste, un hymne contre tout ce qui enferme et réduit la complexité de l’homme.

Qui pourrait nier que tous les maux d’hier et d’aujourd’hui ne découlent que du moment où quelqu’un s’est octroyé un morceau du monde tout en en retranchant l’immensité, se proclamant libre en s’enfermant et commençant à y planter les racines d’un système du profit voué à l’implosion. Ce chant arbore fièrement sa propre naïveté et c’est peut-être à partir de cette candeur assumée et assénée que nous retrouverons le chemin du sens, de l’apaisement voire d’une éventuelle grandeur.

Olivier Mellano

Concert des Vieilles Charrues 2018

Interview de Brendan Perry et Olivier Mellano

Interview No Land par SuperFlux

Teaser vidéo #1
Teaser vidéo #2
Teaser vidéo #3
Teaser vidéo #4
Teaser vidéo #5
No Land en concert
Propaganda

No Land

► Disque et streaming : http://smarturl.it/Noland2017

Textes

Textes et traductions No Land

19 langues pour faire écho à No Land !

«Un disque hors des catégories, sorte d’oratorio laïque et exaltant, une expérience rare.»

Rock & Folk

 

«Les frontières sont dépassées, l’horizon s’étend. Témoin d’une alchimie parfaite entre différentes cultures, No Land est un voyage sonore traversé par la mélancolie et la lumière.»

Noise

 

«À la frontière des sons celtes et de la musique contemporaine, une musique comme un paysage sauvage»

Les Inrockuptibles

 

«Si vous espérez encore que la musique puisse sauver des vies, à commencer par la vôtre, No Land est peut-être une bonne destination.»

Gonzaï

 

«Vagues d’énergie, turbulences, calmes après la tempête et chant profond du monde. Une fusion hors-piste.»

L’Obs

 

«Expérience sensorielle. La puissance du sujet et de ceux qui l’incarnent suffit à donner une ampleur remarquable à l’ensemble. Un message à la dimension méditative qu’il est tentant et rassurant de vouloir ignorer mais qui une fois abordé ne peut que changer notre perception de ce qui nous entoure.»

Metalorgie

 

«Ponts lancés entre les siècles (…) une création unique et déroutante dont l’intemporalité sera un jour démontrée.»

Electrophone

 

«No Land est d’abord et avant tout un projet anti-identitaire.»

Music Waves

 

«Une composition hybride combinant l’esprit de la musique contemporaine et la recherche de soubassements plus anciens. Impressionnant en live.»

Toute la Culture

 

«Percussions martiales, tensions vocales, et victoires mentales : l’alliance de trois entités que tout oppose mais que tout regroupe, lorsqu’il s’agit de se positionner à l’encontre d’un monde de plus en plus ouvert, et de plus fermé.»

Néoprisme

 

«No Land est superbe.»

Froggy’s Delight

 

«Un hymne qui soulève les cœurs et qui n’a pas fini de résonner ici et par-delà les frontières humaines.»

Zic-Zag

Olivier Mellano – Brendan Perry

PRESS KIT DISPONIBLE

 

Il comprend les photos de Richard Dumas, le logo et la présentation de No Land.